Make a Wild Thing!

Where The Wild Things Are_Interior_Max's drawingIn the background of Max causing mischief is a portrait of a Wild Thing drawn by Max himself. It seems Max has already imagined the Wild Things … or, maybe, the Wild Things have already influenced his art. The Wild Things also influence readers; Maurice Sendak once recounted, “Once a little boy sent me a charming card with a little drawing on it. I loved it. I answer all my children’s letters — sometimes very hastily — but this one I lingered over.  I sent him a card and I drew a picture of a Wild Thing on it. I wrote, ‘Dear Jim: I loved your card.’ Wild Thing 1Then I got a letter back from his mother and she said, ‘Jim loved your card so much he ate it.’ That to me was one of the highest compliments I’ve ever received. He didn’t care that it was an original Maurice Sendak drawing or anything. He saw it, he loved it, he ate it.” (Read about what influenced Maurice Sendak in creating the Wild Things here.) 

Draw your own Wild Thing…You may love it so much that you’ll feel compelled to eat it!  

Materials: Where the Wild Things Are; paper; something to draw with – crayons, pencils, markers …

Project: Read Where the Wild Things Are, then discuss and list the Wild Thing’s traits. My daughter and I came up with: faces, horns, hair, claws, rolling eyes, gnashing teeth, and tummies. Draw a Wild Thing based on the listed traits.

Wild Thing 4

Where The Wild Things Are_Interior_Wild RumpusWHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE story and pictures by Maurice Sendak. Published by Harper Collins; first published in 1963

 

Leave a Reply

